March 25, 2007

  • Greetings friends! This particular segment is coming to you from behind Noccalula Falls at 1530 CST. Yes, I am typing it on my laptop. No, I don’t have a super-thin, super-light laptop and yes it was a pain in the ass climbing down here with the additional weight on my back and it was quite more then just the notebook because I had crammed the attaché full of power cables, headphones and the like. I spent many hours working on LJ last night and I think I paid for a service that I might not have needed. Either way, now both of my blogs are ad free. As a little hint to my adoring public, you could renew my subscriptions when they run out as a token of your appreciation for all I do here.

    I should also note that I am feeling a bit dehydrated but have no fear friends, today is not the day that mine enemies will rejoice in the streets upon news of my demise; like Gloria Gaynor, I will survive.

    I wonder which one of you can guess what my first thought was when I got in a position to see behind the falls. I wonder if you can further guess who I immediately called. Unlike last time, I did not bring a notebook or clipboard. I thought about it and concluded that I probably wouldn’t want to carry it and would instead opt for the laptop.

    I’m not looking forward to my climb back up but I must say, this is the neatest, coolest office I think I could ever have. The gentle breeze bounces off the rocks behind me (the area behind the falls is something of an open-sided cave) and is cooled by the water so I have natural air-conditioning. For a chair, I have the rocks that were carved out long before I was a twinkle in somebody’s eye, my lap is my desk. The only think I don’t like about the “chair” (besides the fact that it is rather hard and has no back) is that I think it is making the seat of my pants dirty and I did not bring a change of pants.

    Of interesting note, the Legend of Noccalula Falls is rather reminicent of the Lover’s Leap legend. For those of you who don’t know, I drove out here (the Falls) two weekends ago for the first time in my life. I had just missed by mere moments entering the park, so I could only see the top view of the Falls. I still think I should write a script that would call for this location. If any of my gentle readers are ever in the Tennessee Valley area and have some time to kill and nice weather, I highly recommend getting to the park. Entrance is $6 per person and if I remember correctly, kids 4-12 are $4 whereas the tots are free.

    There is no wi-fi here, and because I have other places to be this text will have been cleaned up before anyone in the public ever sees it. It’s time to hit the trails. I’ll send that email tonight once I’m safely ensconced in my hotel room in Chattanooga. I’m not planing on making any stops between here and there, but I am in need of drink, still have a drive ahead of me and might want my first meal of the day before I get to the hotel.

    Until then, my gentle readers…


    I arrived at my hotel and secured my room. I wanted to take a swim, but there was nowhere convenient to purchase swimwear ergo that activity was forgone. I did walk the four blocks to Porter’s Steakhouse, enjoyed a nice ribeye and an equally delightful Riesling. I’m debating on going to the aquarium and instead just going to Point Park. After all, the whole point of this trip was to write and I didn’t get any of that done today, but then again I was jumpstarted today by the equivalent of a telemarketer so…

Comments (5)

  • You’ve done it to me, now I shall do it to you. You can kill me later.

    “I’m not planing on making” Planning is misspelled.

    “The only think I don’t like about the “chair”" Think, should be thing.

    Third: I think that you were/are foolish to pay for your sites. However, if it floats your boat more power to you.

  • Well the truth is, I don’t really have many “friends” who are active enough on here to comment. I also don’t post as regularly as I have in the past. Really not that much to say. Just the same thing every week for me these days: Work and school. Back when I used to post regularly, my life was a little more exciting. I’d quit my jobs and make the biggest messes. Then one day, I looked back and noticed that 60% of all that I do is complain when I write. 30% is writing about my dreams and asprirations, when really I should be studying for my classes to make those dreams… Leaving only 10% stuff that people would care to read or know about me.

    Just a couple of days ago actually, I joined Facebook.com. There are many more friends that I know on that site than xanga. I’ve been wanting to close my xanga for months now, but don’t wish to delete all of my weblogs. Eventually, I’ll either copy and paste on Word for hours or upgrade to Premium for a month to get the download option. Only like $6 I think so it would be worth it.

    There are just so many memories on my xanga. I’ve had probably four xanga sites dating back to when I was in high school. I graduated in 2003 so I’ve had a “xanga site” on some sort since at least 2000. Deleted them all… Always seem to end up back here with another xanga site though… somehow.

    But I don’t have much time to write a journal anyway. It’s fun and all. Many times I read back a little in my weblogs and laugh and remember… things that happened mere months ago seem so foreign. For some reason, I’d love to relive those moments. From the way I’m writing one might think I’m in a sort of transcendental state of mind at this point in my life. It’s true I guess. I’ve made many mistakes, they are in my weblogs… fully documented.

    If you wish to remain in contact with me, I will post another weblog tonight with my facebook site.

    I forget what I posted on your site but I read a bit of your previous entries and see why I enjoyed reading your site. You write well, I hope you get to write for the Huntsville Times. Are you a Professor for real? Or is that just a sitename-thing? If not, are you at University or graduated? Just curious. Good to hear from you. Any chance to make another friend is fantastic. But, if you were to read my weblogs, you’ll see how boring and “one-track-mindedness” and self-centered I really am. Catch you later!

  • I don’t mean to sound like a madman, I know you can’t just trust anyone online, but, you sound like a guy me and my friends would get along with. I would like to invite you to meet us over in Huntsville one weekend. Pretty much every weekend we go for a movie and dinner and then usually retreat back to one of our homes to play games till midnight or so. But if you’d be up for it, we’re planning to go see TMNT Saturday night at the Rave. You’re more than welcome to join us for the movie and then out to eat or eat first and then movie, whatever… My friend Nick Hayes is 28 years old, still lives at home with his parents. He is a Draftsman at Atrion Medical Products in Arab, where we live. He just introduced me to his friend from school named Kevin. He is about Nick’s age and is working on his Doctrine in Computer Science. So that’s cool! He actually teaches at UAH now. C++ Programming or something… But anyway, Nick loves political, religious, philosophical conversation, you’d probably get along well with our little group.

    As I said somewhere I don’t really have many friends. Just people I meet through Nick. But we have a good time over in Huntsville on the weekends. Basically just a few church kids getting out of the house. I’m a bit younger than they are, I’m 22. But they are great guys. So yeah, give me a call around Friday or so if you want to meet us over there. If you want to make a trip to Arab afterwards for games, feel free to join us there as well! But my cell # is (256) 200-0774. I’ll let you know when and where!

    Oh and yeah, I’ll still be on xanga for a while.

  • Oh, a nice reisling, I have not had one is so long…. may I ask the brand?

    I love a good reisling, although I didn’t discover them until I was 21 and found my only means of employment was to work at a liquor store, but oh the things a person can learn at free wine tastings.

    Not to mention all the freebies!

    Amber

  • it’s true. you obviously don’t have the same problem :)
    most of my friends don’t do xanga anymore *shrug*

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *