March 26, 2009

  • My Cache is Corrupt

    Time seems so elastic.

    I got stuck at work for an extra half hour.

    I think I started syncing around 2000 and finished shortly after 2100. Not too bad for moving all the apps, settings and documents.

    Trying to get the external drive shared out via the GUI isn’t as intuitive as it should be…maybe I’m just too tied to figure it out.

    Yesterday after work, I entertained [info]whester. While I was waiting on him to get off of work (he had the late shift) I read a post about geo-caching. So, I headed over to geocaching.com and found You Can’t Get There From Here.

    This was the first self-initiated geocaching adventure I had ever been on. I went once or twice with my first guru, who, coincidently, was the same reason I went to UAH.

    I remember having to pick up a cache with a stick…it was on an overpass, but you could get to it via the sidewalk. I also remember walking around Area 51 and trying to follow clues and get more numbers for our find…I don’t remember figuring that one out. It’s amazing how the mind stores memories.

    In either event, when [info]whester told me that he was on his way to my place, I told him that I had a plan and would explain when he got here. Which I did. After we looked on the map and figured out how to get to the cache, we hit the road. Per usual, I over-though the entire puzzle and was looking in places that didn’t make any sense. [info]whester stumbled upon the cache as I bumbled along in my theories.

    We both agreed that we should go geocaching again some time in the near future.

    And that’s when I started earnestly coveting the Nikon D60 since I had finally solved the laptop dilemma. I could document our hunts pictorially on my blog!

    Well I’m beat and can’t think straight. I wrote this entire post on m0bil30n3 in bed. If this was incoherent rambling, I’m sorry and will make up for it later in some way I can’t conceive of now.

Comments (8)

  • lol. it’s cool. somehow I should know what you are talking about since I am trying to get into the IT world, but I think i am mentally blocking it out.

  • One of my mom’s friends is really into geocaching.  It sounds kinda cool, but I’ve never been involved with it.

  • @nomdeinternet – I was trying to get the drive that I put all my music on shared out so I can use it via the laptop as thought it were phyiscally connected to it, but it wouldn’t work either via AFP or SMB :( I think I’m going to have to hack the smb.conf file on miniMax0r to get it to work.

    Then I rambled about how I went geocaching. It was a non-cohesive post.

  • @heidenkind – This was just something to get my feet wet, but I think I’m going to take it up this year to give me something to do that is out of the house. It’ll even give me something to write about.

    How’s the job hunt coming? Have you stopped by your local McDonald’s?

  • @ProfessorTom - No, I’m not that desperate yet.   I did find a pet-sitting job for the week, so that will get me some extra money.

  • @heidenkind – One of these days, when you’re employed in the world’s oldest profession, compliments of Lord Barack Obama, The Most Merciful, you’ll wish you would have heeded my advice.

  • @ProfessorTom - Thanks for the encouragement.

  • @heidenkind – I’m always here to help.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *