Month: February 2005

  • rant and rave about the new header here. :-Þ

  • I was going to post a rather moopy post, but since talking to Dad, it somehow made me get over my little pity party. I may still post it, but something tells me that 24 hours after I post it, I’ll regret it. I need 36 hours in a day so I can get everything I need to get done done.


    I’m surprised that I didn’t get more comments on my Dr. Lecter post. Amy, you still haven’t come up with a suitable title, so there is a defiant exclmation point to greet you.


    btw, if you haven’t seen Hitch, you need to go see it now! I don’t care if the kids are on fire, go see the movie. I’m going to go look for the credits song when I get a chance. IRC is a wonderful tool.

  • I just bought Hannibal. I’m considering which of the various quotations to post here. I’ll just list them all.

    Hannibal Lecter: Would you ever say to me “Stop. If you love me, stop?”
    Clarice Starling: Not in a thousand years.
    Hannibal Lecter: “Not in a thousand years”… That’s my girl.

    Mason Verger: I have immunity from the Justice Department, and I have immunity from the Risen Jesus. And nobody beats the Riz!

    Hannibal Lecter: On a similar note I must confess to you, I’m giving very serious thought… to eating your wife.

    And how could we leave out the “Dear Clarice” letter?

    Hannibal Lecter: Dear Clarice, I have followed with enthusiasm the course of your disgrace and public shaming. My own never bothered me except for the inconvenience of being incarcerated, but you may lack perspective. In our discussions down in the dungeon it was apparent to me that your father, the dead night watchman, figures largely in your value system. I think your success in putting an end to Jame Gumb’s career as a couturier pleased you most because you could imagine your father being pleased. But now, alas, you’re in bad odour with the FBI. Do you imagine your daddy being shamed by your disgrace? Do you see him in his plain pine box crushed by your failure; a sorry, petty end of a promising career? What is worst about this humiliation Clarice? Is it how your failure will reflect on your mommy and daddy? Is your worst fear that people will now and forever believe they were indeed just good old trailer camp tornado bait white trash and that perhaps you are too? By the way I couldn’t help noticing on the FBI’s rather dull public website that I have been hoisted from the Bureau’s archives of the common criminal and elevated to the more prestigious 10 Most Wanted list. Is this coincidence, or are you back on the case? If so, goody goody, cause I need to come out of retirement and return to public life. I imagine you sitting in a dark basement room bent over papers and computer screens. Is that accurate? Please tell me truly, Special Agent Starling. Regards, your old pal Hannibal Lecter, M.D. P.S. Clearly this new assignment is not your choice rather I suppose it is a part of the bargain but you accepted it Clarice. Your job is to craft my doom. So I am not sure how well I should wish you but I’m sure we’ll have a lot of fun. Tata, H.

  • Hello darkness, my old friend,
    I’ve come to talk with you again,
    Because a vision softly creeping,
    Left it’s seeds while I was sleeping,
    And the vision that was planted in my brain
    Still remains
    Within the sound of silence.

    In restless dreams I walked alone
    Narrow streets of cobblestone,
    ’neath the halo of a street lamp,
    I turned my collar to the cold and damp
    When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of
    A neon light
    That split the night
    And touched the sound of silence.

    And in the naked light I saw
    Ten thousand people, maybe more.
    People talking without speaking,
    People hearing without listening,
    People writing songs that voices never share
    And no one deared
    Disturb the sound of silence.

    Fools said I, you do not know
    Silence like a cancer grows.
    Hear my words that I might teach you,
    Take my arms that I might reach you.
    But my words like silent raindrops fell,
    And echoed
    In the wells of silence

    And the people bowed and prayed
    To the neon God they made.
    And the sign flashed out it’s warning,
    In the words that it was forming.
    And the signs said, the words of the prophets
    Are written on the subway walls
    And tenement halls.
    And whisper’d in the sounds of silence.

  • I think I’m getting mono/strep/that nasty stuff I used to get. Sudafed doesn’t seem to do the trick of making it go away, just relives the symptoms. I can’t get sick right now with the new job. Yesterday and today, I got up, took meds, and laid down for another three or four hours. Thankfully, I’m not due back at work till Tuesday night, so hopefully I’ll lick this by then.

  • it’s time for a new post, but I’m not exactly sure what to say. I got a job at Hollywood 18, so if any of ya come down to bug me, I can have you forceably removed. And oh, by the way, I’ve already made friends with the security guards, so don’t tempt me.

    Richard (Timon, Elisabeth, you know who I’m talking about) came down to the theater tonight to apply since he needs cash for the baby and his wife. I’m gonna go hang with him Sunday if nothing happens.

    Something tells me I should space these out a bit more, but I think it’s time for another trip to bash.org:

    Radio interview quote from Marine Corps General Reinwald and a female radio host. He wants to host some boy scouts at the training center for some practise excercises. As follows:

    FEMALE INTERVIEWER: So, General Reinwald, what things are you going to teach these young boys when they visit your base?
    GENERAL REINWALD: We’re going to teach them climbing, canoeing, archery, and shooting.
    FEMALE INTERVIEWER: Shooting! That’s a bit irresponsible, isn’t it?
    GENERAL REINWALD: I don’t see why, they’ll be properly supervised on the rifle range.
    FEMALE INTERVIEWER: Don’t you admit that this is a terribly dangerous activity to be teaching children?
    GENERAL REINWALD: I don’t see how. We will be teaching them proper rifle discipline before they even touch a firearm.
    FEMALE INTERVIEWER: But you’re equipping them to become violent killers.
    GENERAL REINWALD: Well, you’re equipped to be a prostitute, but you’re not one, are you?

    The radio went silent and the interview ended. You gotta love the Marines!