December 3, 2008

  • Hope for Change Part 1

    Hope for Change Part 1

    barack-is-hope

    My company hosts a canned food drive every year. The company is broken up into teams and we gather non-parishable items to give to some charity (I want to say Salvation Army but don’t quote me on that.) Anyway, the idea is that with competition you can get more people involved, but the only incentive is bragging rights.

    Don’t get me wrong, this is for a good cause…at least on the surface. Yes, because of Eeeevil Bush and this damned Bush economy, there are people who do not have a place to live or food to eat. Of course, this is never an issue when Democrats are in office. And thank God we elected one just in time. Could you imagine another four years of homeless people getting drunk on mouthwash? That’s one hell of a hangover!

    Someone approached me and [info]whester asking us if we were planning on donating food this year. He said he had to balance his checkbook. I told the gal that was asking to Hope for Change. She said, “You’re going to be a team player and donate something?” “We can only hope.” I replied.

    So I’m going to find the biggest picture of Lord and Savior Barack Obama the Most Merciful to put in the box. The proud recipient of this item will receive something better than a can of beans to be quickly consumed and forgotten–they will be getting the message of Hope and Change. Yes, We Can Hope for Change…but it will have to wait until January 20.

    barck-is-change

Comments (3)

  • Sounds like something my husband would do. He’s the sarcastic office asshole where he works : ) He’s also the only white employee, and somehow, his co-workers love him and respect him for his honesty.

  • @DirtyAndShaken - 

    An honest white man? You speak blasphemy!

    If I’m ever in town, I’m going to look you two up for a drink.

    Hope you had a good laugh!

  • I watched many months of the political campaigning in the States, tons of hours logged into John Daily and Stephen Colbert as well.  I live in southern Ontario, near Toronto.  The election was very important for the whole world and I for one am glad the States has showed how real democracy works.  It doesn’t matter to me or a lot of other people that Obama is colored. He’s the right guy to do the job.  I wish the government up here in Canada could get it’s shit together and get squared away. Our 3 main stooges of opposing political parties are trying to overthrow our Prime Minister, (he just got voted in about 6 weeks ago) and form some coalition to fuck everyone.  At least all of you people in the USA have a president or someone recognizeable in the world. 

     Our politicians aren’t even mentioned on Leno or David Letterman. They’re not worth their time.

    Good luck in the New Year.  I think Obama is a good guy and he’ll do his best.  Your country is still one of the finest leaders in the world and you just showed it again with this historical election.

    Take care,

                              Steve T

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *