April 26, 2009

  • Keynesian Blogging

    April 9th marked my two year anniversary with my company. I started my delivery job two months prior to that, so April 9 also marked the two year anniversary of holding down two jobs simultaneously. Sadly, I’m still in debt proportionally as much as I was when I started working both jobs. At least I’ve learned something worthwhile in those two years. Too bad it isn’t enough to go out and get a six figure salaried job. :(

    As much as I don’t want to pay for the experience, I’m going to go see Angels & Demons which means you can count on a review on Montag’s Reviews. I also encourage Guy Montag to review and post about Angels & Demons himself as it could be enjoyable comparing and contrasting our thoughts.

    Speaking of reviews, I did see The Soloist earlier today and will review it momentarily (read after dinner plus however long it takes to write.) This business of waking up, going to the theater, coming home, going to bed until 1800, writing a review and going back to bed on Sundays is getting to be routine. Too bad there’s very little between now and the end of summer I actually want to go see.

    One thing’s for damned sure: I’m taking this Sabbath thing almost as seriously as a Jew.

    Depending on how much time and energy I have left after reviewing The Soloist, I might tackle some current events stuff–basically everything I wanted to write last week but didn’t get a chance to for whatever reason. Speaking of last week, I found that if I got off schedule by one little bit, it throws the whole writing week off. Because I was out late buying groceries Monday night, it meant that I was behind on my sleep schedule which threw off my work schedule.

    This week lent to some overtime that almost got fucked in the last stretch because of a faux pas from Programming. Thankfully, someone saw to it that we got builds after hours Friday, so all of my weekend upgrades were doable…except the one that I couldn’t connect to. Technically, I need to log on and do an hour’s worth of paperwork, but I think I’ll leave it for Monday morning. This way, I’ll have something to do Monday.

    Currently, Memorial Day Weekend (including Monday, of course) is open. I’d love to make plans with someone [Hint! Hint! Andi 8)]. I know I’m going home Mother’s Day weekend. If you don’t have anything planned for Memorial Day Weekend, give me a shout and we’ll see about getting together.

    It seems like there was something else I wanted to say in this post all weekend, but I can’t think of it.

    New readers, welcome aboard!

Comments (15)

  • Let me know how Angels and Demons is. My friend keeps bugging me to go see it with her.

  • @Vivi_Kitty – May 15th is the release date. I’ll see it the following Sunday 18th, the weekend after Mother’s Day.

  • I’m not doing anything for Memorial Day Weekend.   I heard The Soloist was really good, but it looks potentially sappy.  Can’t wait for you to review that.

  • @heidenkind – Alan Keys got it wrong. Priming the pump doesn’t even work for blogging. The review never got written today. In the words of Scarlet O’ Hara, After all, tomorrow is another day!

  • @ProfessorTom - Scarlet O’Hara said that?

  • @heidenkind – I thought an art history major like you would know that. Perhaps I’ll have to rent Gone With the Wind for our time down by the fire.

  • @ProfessorTom - I’ve never seen Gone with the Wind.  But Annie said, “Tomorrow, tomorrow, there’s always tomorrow, it’s only a day away.”

  • @heidenkind – Anne Shirley had a similar saying.

  • I’m pretty sure we can arrange something that weekend.  We don’t typically have plans on holiday weekends.  The only thing I can think of is if my family plans for the baby shower that weekend, but I highly doubt it.  I’ll talk to Paul about it fo sho.  I’m anxious to see your review of A&D.  LOVED the book and read it before I read The DaVinci Code.  I am thinking it might be like The DaVinci Code, though, where the movie just sucked for me.  I think it just felt nearly impossible to cram that much information into such a short amount of time.  I feel like A&D will be the same way, but I’m holding out hope.  And I’m still a huge fan of Tom Hanks.  So yes, please post.  And about The Soloist, too, because that has certainly piqued my interest and so rarely do I feel compelled to go see a movie in the theater.

    I feel your pain.  There are so few periods of time in my adult life I didn’t have two jobs.  Pre-prison days, circa 2004-ish, I had three jobs (one full time) and was going to school full time.  I look back now at that time and can’t figure out how in the hell I did it.  Survival mode, I guess.  Poor Paul gets the short end of that stick right now with his full-time job, handling the cleaning business and going to school full time.

    I am currently trying to figure out what to do about consolidating my medical bills somehow, but that’s unknown territory.  I owe about $5K, but I am being billed from so many different places that sending a little bit to each one each month is going to kill me.  You have any advice or experience in such an area?  No credit card debt, just medical bills (past due and headed to collections).  Getting a loan to deal with it doesn’t seem like an option with the economy the way it is these days.

  • Have you had a nice holiday?

  • @nattata – um…I didn’t have a holiday…but Alan Keys was wrong, even when it comes to blogging.

  • i watched angels and demons and it was great, would recommend it to you guys also

    vaporizer

  • @sexycaliblond – um…hi.

    Did NYC have a special preview for Angels & Demons?

    Why the wicked roots link?

  • No offense or anything, but this whole ‘all work and no play (or blogging)’ for you is really getting on my nerves.  It’s too quiet without some quality PT reading.  Just FYI.

  • @DirtyAndShaken – I’m working on it. The Chineese have a saying “Beware what you wish for.” I’m going to have to type twice as fast and you read fout times as fast for us to get it all in…when the writing starts.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *