April 20, 2009

  • The State of State of Play

    State of Play blue shirt

    State of Play delivers on its promise to aspiring journalists to get adrenaline pumping and imaginations running wild as the viewer is treated to what it must be like to work a “real” story in a big metro. Crowe’s character Cal is a seasoned, “old-time” reporter i.e. print media. Rachel McAddams’ (who will forever be known as “the chick from The Notebook“) Della Frye is a snippy blogger who churns out more content more often than Cal. Though Della is labeled as unseasoned, this relationship isn’t played up like a buddy-cop franchise, vis-à-vis Lethal Weapon.

    Cal’s a-long-time-ago roommate–now Senator Stephen Collins (Ben Affleck)–is today’s news topic after his Monica Lewniski young, attractive intern is found to be murdered. When Senator Collins shows up on Cal’s doorstep that evening, the race is on at the Washington Globe to get the whole story. Instead of taking up his boss’ suggestion of bringing in another seasoned reporter, Cal politics for blogger Della to be his partner-in-crimewriting.

    There’s been much ink spilled bitching about how State of Play and The Soloist are movies designed to prop up a dead industry. Nonsense! State of Play is a movie about chasing down the story.

    Take away the newsroom workplace aspect and assume that blogging is the way that everyone consumes their news. Still the same film, isn’t it? So long as no no-name blogger scoops the story, there will always be pros who have connections, tips and sources. That is what journalism is about–recording the facts and leaving the journey to the reader.

    Oddities: Cal isn’t the typical embittered has-been that saves the day one more time while passing on his secrets to his tag-a-long. Instead, Cal is rather affable all-in-all. Robin Wright Penn makes for a stunning Senator’s wife despite the fact that she is in tears the majority of her screen-time. Jeff Daniels makes another Traitor-like cameo which seems to be his MO. Similarly, Jason Bateman scores another groundhog role with State of Play.

    Kevin Macdonald has a good start for what could be a long career in features should he decide to give up his documentary filmmaking ways. (Previous Macdonald feature that got press: The Last King of Scotland)

    Will this film make money? It’s hard to say. Rising ticket prices means fewer movies seen in theaters per year by average Joe Blow. Add to this the consternation that Crowe has been reported to be the least profitable actor and all signs point to no. In the end, it all comes down to whether or not people want to see a journalistic thriller.

Comments (11)

  • Great review. This is awesome. Lots of tips and tricks to be picked up by would-be reviewers.

    They have been noted.

  • Lots of tips and tricks to be picked up by would-be reviewers.

    Please to share with the rest of the class.

  • I doubt I’m going to see this movie.  I like thrillers, but I usually watch them after they come out on DVD.  Also, ye olde intern plot isn’t really capturing my attention.  I can already tell that I probably won’t care who offed the intern.

    As for rising ticket prices, I’m not sure they’re putting off ticket sales that much anymore.  I read on US News & World Report that Hollywood’s been doing pretty well ever since the economy started to go down hill.

  • @heidenkind – While it’s true that people want to go to the theater during economic hardships as an escapism, I’m sure more people are thinking about burning $10 to go watch some junk than they did this time last year. Take me for instance. I’m still going to go to the theater because it’s my passion. But I’ve already passed on several movies because they didn’t interest me. Right now, I’ve got next weekend open for The Soloist, but after that, the next film on my list is Public Enemies which debutes the first of July. I know blockbuster season is just around the corner, but I couldn’t tell you what is slated for this year. I’m sure I’ll go see some of them (likely Angels and Demons against my will) and maaaaaaybe Transformers, but other than that, I can’t see anything I can’t wait to see. This looks like the year of DVD.

  • The only movies I’m totally psyched about are Angels and Demons, the 6th Harry Potter, and the new Sherlock Holmes with Robert Downey, Jr., as Holmes.  I’m excited about A&D because I liked the book.  Yeah, The Da Vinci Code was pretty brainless, but you never know, this one might be better.

    Still, of all those movies, I’ll still probably only see one.   I like going to the movies, but it is expensive.  Even here at $5.50 for the evening show ($4.50 for the matinees). 

  • @heidenkindSherlock Holmes doesn’t come out until Chirstmas. I never got into the Harry Potter franchise and have no intention of starting now. Furthermore, Angles and Demons looks like it might be more intense than DaVinci Code but who knows? I got dragged to the damned thing 6 times while it was in the theater. Yeah, I know, I needed a life back then almost as much as I need one now.

    Your theater is cheap! Matinees are $7/$7.25 for the choice theaters and $9/$9.25 for the evening. That’s expensive!

    And you’ve just argued against yourself. Two comments ago, you said that Hollywood was doing just fine and then you admit that you’re not willing to drop the middle class tax cut Our Dear Leader Supreme Dictator for Life His Royal Majesty Lord Barack Obama The Most Merciful has bestowed upon you to waste on film that doesn’t throughly pique your interest.

  • I said Hollywood in general is doing better now than it has been, not that I–who make less than $400 a month at my lovely academic job–am willing to spend money on movies.  If I did have money to spend, would I spend it on movies?  Probably not; I’d spend it on books.  But I could see where someone would spend it on movies.

    Our theater has to be cheap or else no one would go to it.   This town is very odd that way.  I’ve been to even smaller towns near here that still show movies for $1-$2.

    I can’t believe you saw The Da Vinci Code six times.  That’s inhumane.  I’ve seen it three times–twice on tv when I was really bored–and that was more than enough.  My favorite line is when Tom Hanks goes, “You’re the only living descendant of Jesus Christ!”  That’s always good for a few lulz.

  • @heidenkind – It was an impressive production, but a mediocra film.

    Jesus, you really do need to find another job.

    I drove an hour and a half once to go to a dollar theater. It was the only theater in the region that was playing The Fountain.

  • @ProfessorTom - Tell me about it.

    I remember the previews for The Fountain.  It looked like it was going to be really cool, but my friend said it was boring.

  • @heidenkind – You should see the film for yourself. The dollar theater was my thrid viewing. I went to Walmart at midnight to buy the first two copies that particular store sold–I had promised a copy to a friend.

  • Heh heh heh. No, The Rave, which used to be known as Eagle’s Ballroom, is a concert venue in Milwaukee, Wisconsin that has, like the rest of the city, very pretty cream brick.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *