Month: December 2005

  • Vide Cor Meum

    From the Land where Palm Trees Grow…

    It didn’t last as long as I’d hoped. Maybe there actually is a friendship. Who knows? Who cares?

    Uh, other things to say. I went to the great town of Juanita again. Worthwhile in its own twisted way. I think I got things worked out. It’s family, and that’s what family’s for. Thank God for family.

    Movies I would like to add to my collection:
    A Christmas Carol
    We Were Soldiers
    Saving Private Ryan
    Black Hawk Down
    Sin City Extended Cut
    Amadeus – Director’s Cut (Two-Disc Special Edition)
    Band of Brothers
    Fly Away Home

    Music I would like to add to my collection:
    Mr. & Mrs. Smith score
    Amadeus NOTE: I wanted the three disc set, but according to a review, this has all the tracks that the three disc set has. Differences are that this set is 24 bit mastered and comes on two instead of three discs.
    Celtic Portraits
    Distant Thunder
    We Were Soldiers Score

    I could go on and on, but I think you get the point. Also, I need to get a wall calendar and square 365 calendar.

    Furthermore, I’m going to stick some irons in the fire this weekend. And by Monday that short section of the book will be up as a protected post. I’ll tease it for you publicly so you know exactly when it’s up.

    No plans for New Year’s. Too bad I don’t have a champagne/wine buddy to hang with that night.

    In Case you were wondering or still waiting…
    Remember that text that I put up a while ago and said it was a treat? Here’s the interpretation with a link that further explains the text. My familiarity comes from Hannibal though I think the author of this page does a good job of filling in for us. Who remembers this scene? Can you quote it?




    ITALIAN/LATIN


    Chorus: E pensando di lei
    Mi sopragiunse uno soave sonno


    Ego dominus tuus
    Vide cor tuum
    E d’esto core ardendo
    Cor tuum
    (Chorus: Lei paventosa)
    Umilmente pascea.
    Appreso gir lo ne vedea piangendo.


    La letizia si convertia
    In amarissimo pianto


    Io sono in pace
    Cor meum
    Io sono in pace
    Vide cor meum

    ENGLISH


    Chorus: And thinking of her
    Sweet sleep overcame me


    I am your master
    See your heart
    And of this burning heart
    Your heart
    (Chorus: She trembling)
    Obediently eats.
    Weeping, I saw him then depart from me.


    Joy is converted
    To bitterest tears


    I am in peace
    My heart
    I am in peace
    See my heart

    My Autobiography

    ‘Cause it’s a bitter sweet symphony, this life
    Try to make ends meet, you’re a slave to money, then you die
    I’ll take you down to the only road I’ve ever been down
    You know the one that takes you to the places where all the things meet, yeah

  • Where is the bottom of this mountain?

    -On a Crash kick again. Well, kinda.

    -Watched Great Expectations. Severe waste of time, money, energy and effort.

    -Spendmymoneybuddy thinks all I do is high school jobs. He wants his meal ticket to come to Nashville. It won’t go. Same ole same ole. He said he wouldn’t talk to me again. We’ll see how long that lasts.

    -Christmas was a fiasco of a debacle. Should have stayed home to begin with.

    -Resigned myself to the high cost of low living henceforth the other day. I think that was the day I died.

    -Florida sounds like a good escape.

    -Perfect cigar weather yesterday and today.

    -Need exists to find other hobbies. I considered masturbation.

    -Perhaps there is competition for the job of having the only purpose in one’s life being a warning to others. However, I think I have them all beat.

    -The embers are dying.

    -Tragic Romantic movies are starting to gain an appeal to me again.

    -I should go see Kong three more times before it leaves the big screen.

    -When will it end or reverse?

    -If I have a guardian angle out there, it needs to make itself known now.

    -The boy watched a Tragic Romantic movie last night. It made him think of all the girls. A girl. The girl. Any girl.

    -Is there still grace for the ignorance and arrogance of youth? If so, what is it? To what extent?

    -I want to buy a Miata or Spyder or an S2000 and go crusin’ around the country. End up in LA or Miami.

    Barbosa

    I feel…cold.

  • pleathora of bouncy balls in the gym. Small square visualization.

  • Let me tell ya ’bout the birds and the bees, and the flowers in the trees…
    Let me show you why friends are good.

    SomeGirlinKansas

    i think that your blog was very sweet. and it made me smile. and laugh.

    me

    oh really? why was it sweet? what made you smile and what made you laugh?

    SomeGirlinKansas

    it was sweet because you made me feel special. i like to encourage others. i smiled because it was fun to be in a post but no one would know it was me. it was like… a secret. lol. how little girlie is that?

    and i laughed because i like to laugh. and it just called for laughing

    I was so overjoyed that she was that grateful for something as small as a mention in a blog that I wanted to pass out big bear hugs.

    Today will be a good day. Nothing will deter me. Thank you SomeGirlinKansas.

  • A New Leaf on this Blog

    There is so much that needs to be said in this post that I don’t know if I have the time to get it all in and said. I shall do my utmost. If I must, this post will come in sections. Normally, I like to have one post where everything is congruent (if only in my mind) but this might just have to be the separate trains of thought under different headings and be left at that. Indeed, I don’t even know if it will be feasible to attempt to get it all in. In my mind the way I see this working is news followed by a long post about relationships with perhaps a comment or two thrown in along the way on other minor topics I wish to touch on. Suffice it to say I may be a day or so without reading subscriptions because of this, but that’s just part of it.

    Now for the News at Five
    Where to start? One of the regrets of not having posted sooner is that the older events will be foreshadowed by those more recent events due to memory management (pun intended) in the brain.

    Let’s see, the oldest news is probably that I got a job delivering for Domino’s. The question remains whether or not I’ll make any money. Statically, drivers tend to make pretty decent money all in all. Excellent money if you consider their contribution to the whole thing. ‘Twas hired on Wednesday, orientation on Saturday, and first shift was Sunday night. Only made 11 dollars on 8 runs. But hey, it’s laid back, I can do what I want and still make excellent money. Had Monday and Tuesday off, Wed – Saturday driving evenings. Gonna see if I can pick up some daytime hours.

    Other news: I am currently writing this post whist the great town of Oneonta (correctly pronounced On e on ta but affectionately know to me as Juanita) Alabama. Came home to get the breaks fixed. The mechanic in the great metropolis of Huntsvegas wanted to charge me $430 and replaces all the shoes, pads and rotators. Came home because it’s a small town and both Dad and I know the mechanic personally as they have serviced all of our vehicles. Wound up and only spent $101…the guy here in town said all I needed was new pads and rotating the rotors on the front. This is a good thing since regardless of who would be performing the service would be paid via credit card and I’m starting to push the limits.

    At the previous job (where they have retired my Hooter’s shorts) under the GM there are four shift managers and the assistant manager. Three of the four shift managers are quitting as is the assistant manager. The one shift manager that isn’t quitting is the Hispanic that opens i.e. she’s there at 0430 to open the store. If she actually knew what was going on, I think she’d quit too if it wasn’t for the fact that it’s probably the best position she’ll have here in the States unless she really learns English, not just bullshit knowing the language. Ah, the privilege of being a citizen of the States.

    BTW Howton, I just wanted to say thanx for the disturbing image of Hooter’s shorts. As a filmmaker, you know that I’m going to think visually and you have no idea how haunting the shot of walking in those shorts are. Fye on thee!

    Oh! Other news: Saw Batman Begins for the first time the other day and have now seen King Kong twice. Went tonight with Timon, his girlfriend Amber and Jesse. Forgot it was Jesse’s birthday today (well yesterday, but you know how I always do the previous day thing) so Kong was his birthday present. BTW if anyone knows what the numbers are for opening weekend, please let me know.

    Drinking more milk. This may mean nothing to you, but it’s important because milk creates mucous and I’ve always had sinus issues. However, even though I just had sinus troubles, there doesn’t seem to be an additional strain due to the milk, so this is a good thing.

    Finally know about Christmas. The store closes at 1900 and we’ll have a little party right after we close. Should be outta there around 2000. Then we leave the great metropolis of Huntsvegas and journey to the great town of Juanita.

    —–
    Sorry guys, but I’ve got to do a placeholder for now. Will flesh this out once back in Huntsvegas. Must sleep. Speaking of sleep, who here drinks energy drinks? My personal favorite is Amp, the Mountain Dew energy drink. Anyone in my readership drink Amp?
    —–

    I came up with something that I thought was clever whilst in the great town of Juanita. It occurred to me that energy drinks could be used as sleep substitutes. Therefore, I said that Amp is sleep in a can. Dad said it was anti-sleep in a can. Things like this. Jeeze!

    I wanna harp on good ol’e Dad here for a minute before I get into my award-winning monologue and dissertation on relationships. Now I know that the Amp thing is inconsequential in the broad scheme of things. But it is exemplary of the bigger issue: I’ve never been able to really connect with Dad. I’m not trying to place blame on anyone I’m just stating a fact.

    In fact, you should really think of this like I was giving one of my talk-show style monologues because that’s the only way that this will make sense. For those of you who have gotten to know me, you know that I write exactly what I would say. Which leads me to another issue: so-called cuss words on my blog. All I can say about all that is it’s just who I am. I don’t do it to impress, nor do I do it to annoy. I’m just being true to who I am. Something has occurred of late that has made me really think about this. For better or worse, accurate or not, I’ve lost a good blogging friend because of this. My problem is if I try to reword things, not only do they just not sound right, they don’t have the same weight or emphasis. Because I’ve recently made/am in the process of making a new blogging friend, the issue has already come up between us. Now I was told that they had went back to post one and read all of them up to the most recent. I have nothing to hide and am cool with this.

    Be all that as it may, I do have this to say: she was reading my story told my way. My feelings. Not something sugar coated for the rest of the world. Something for me. I don’t blog just to get comments, though I do greatly appreciate them. I blog because it’s a more sensible alternative for me then handwriting in a journal. In fact, I like it better. The interactivity is something that pen and paper just don’t offer. This isn’t without it’s problems either. For example, if you want only a select few people to read a post, I don’t think there’s a way to make a list of just those people. For example, if you only wanted a subset of your subscription list. On the other hand, there comes a point where you just say “fuck it!” and put everything up publicly because that’s the whole point of blogging. Or you think that everything should be private. But then no one would read it nor would they comment. Oh the agony!

    This is why I say I don’t make movies for anyone but me. If I don’t like it, my name doesn’t go on it because I’m not putting my seal of approval on something that I don’t think makes muster. I know this is confusing to a lot of people and no matter what I say they just ain’t gonna get it, but it is what it is.

    Back to Dad. I just can’t find a way to feel like I’ve pleased him. Granted, I’ve done a lot of things lately that I’m not proud of retrospectively, but still, I just can’t seem to find his approval. Every day, I unconsciously try to be more like him thinking maybe today will be the day. Again, I’m not blaming him nor do I expect this to reach his ears and him behave differently. I guess this is just one of those growing stages. But oh, how I hate it! And btw Eric, this is what I’m talking about when I talk about not being a good son. So I guess in that pure sense, you could say that my dad is my hero even though I have others I look up to because he’s not in the same industry that I want to get into i.e. computers or film.

    The other thing that’s aggravating is that because he doesn’t read my blog (nor does anyone in my family have time to keep up with it on a regular basis) he doesn’t understand some of my deeper processes about the future and what I want to do. So when I come to him for advice, it’s hard because on the one hand he doesn’t have time for details nor does he listen to them. But on the other hand, when you try to condense and dispense with details, it recasts the decision-making process into something that it isn’t, and you get skewed results in advice. Furthermore, you forget why you chose a certain decision path. I just wished that we could connect more often.

    About Kong, it was interesting. I kept trying to see how everyone was reacting while still giving them their privacy. That night I was in rare form: I was in a “let’s make a memory” mood. Not “let’s just do random shit to be obnoxious and see what sticks.” I mean really have fun and go all out. We did. Everyone liked the movie so much, we were rearing to go work on something. Anything. I think I can use Kong as a springboard to get something moving right after the first of the year.

    Btw, I have a question to ask. Is it wrong to see people as resources? I mean—and this is particularly true of film—it seems like it take someone from each walk of life to put a movie together. It’s one of the few activities that I know of where you need all disciplines from engineering to sewing to language skills to people with vision. Even food preparation. Cast and crew have to eat i.e. catering.

    IMDb claims that Kong made 50.1 million. It pisses me off that no one is talking about Kong being nominated for best picture this year. Instead, the favorite is about gay cowboys. Now I know that the Oscars are nothing but politics. But if a movie about gay cowboys wins best picture, that says a lot about this country.

    So I was in a “make a memory” mood for Kong and that night with my friends. Part of that is the new leaf that I’ve turned over. And it all happened because of a girl. Now this goes back to what I just said about blogging having it’s limitations while at the same time embracing those limitations. Someone, and let’s protect the innocent here, SomeGirlinKansas decided that I needed cheering up. Since she’d seen my name go by several times in the past nine months or so, she finally decided it might be worth it to IM me. We had a wonderful and zany conversation. I learned some of the lessons that I should have learned as a kid. SomeGirlinKansas decided to “research” me amidst claims that she wasn’t a stalker. I helped her along in this endeavor by filling in some gaps as well as sending her links to some things I had written for the school paper. The ultimate resource to understanding me. I pointed out, was my blog. So she decided to read all of my posts. She especially liked the Butterfly post; too bad that UAH has deleted my account and therefore made the butterflies go away. I still have them saved locally. I should upload them somewhere so that post can stay complete.

    You see, I’ve finally realized what it means to just make a friend. I have this bad habit of thinking way into the future. For example (and this is what I mean about the problems of blogging) I had thought that it would be fun to sneak up to Kansas and stop by for a visit. (Where have we heard this before?) I mean, now granted, I’m not expecting this to go anywhere. We have no clue who each other really are except that which is on our blogs. But still, one can dream, and I have a tendency to do that too much. Reggie has chided me about thinking I’m in relationships that I’m not. He had a good point. The only way I can explain this is by presenting a visual idea I had for a film.

    So this guy meets this girl. Before they even say hello, we have a time-lapsed montage of him and her on various dates and outings from ice cream to fairs and department store shopping. He does this with most everyone he meets, but it’s more important with her because they actually do all the things that he sees. The last image we see is her modeling a dresses for him that she’s shopping. She wants his opinion. As she coquettishly plays with a purple hat whilst in a purple hat, he says, “I like the purple one.” But he says this audibly to her instead of saying “hello”. I do something similar, though not as dramatic. And not, to date anyway (pun not intended) as embarrassing.

    The whole point is I don’ foresee anything more than a good friendship coming out of this, provided I don’t screw it up. It would be great if there were more (and rightfully so, even from an objective point of view) but the truth of the matter is we’ll probably never meet each other. Which is fine. The point I’m trying to make (and this is why I say my blog is for me by me of me) is that I was elated to finally get the opportunity to chat with her. I’d toyed with the idea several times before because it just wouldn’t be right. Maybe it’s the whole predator/prey model. I honestly don’t know. But I know that I enjoyed it and that I look forward to making more memories. If only I’d learned this sooner.

    Maybe it’s due to the fact that I got a new job that I like. I mean, what could be cooler than getting paid to drive around singing along with oldies even if you do hate your car? Perhaps it’s because SomeGirlinKansas really did cheer me up after all. I don’t know. But I do know that I’m the happiest I’ve even been even though the drive to make movies is killing me. I mean really eating away at me. I might do something desperate if I don’t make something soon. And yet, I’m really starting to feel like a kid again. Perhaps I’m starting to feel younger about my age. But then I look into the future and see the credit cards that I need to pay off as well as the student loans, new car, and house that need be purchased. I also know that I need a stable income to support someone before I seriously think of getting involved with anyone that far. But then I also think of how much I want to travel with that person and share the world and life together, whoever she may be. And I look at where I’m at now. I know that if I buckle down and pay for my mistakes, it will take five years of two full time jobs (unless I get a break with someone who can get me in somewhere where they have money to give away.) just to break even and purchase another car. And that’s only if I live in this apartment for those five years. So I have my whole life in front of me. And yet, I feel as though I’ve already lived it and that all I can do is dream. The torment of being young.

    Lester

    My name is Lester Burnham. I’m 42 years old. In less than a year I’ll be dead. Of course, I don’t know that yet. And in a way, I’m dead already.

    So you see Howton, there may be some good in a whole bunch of mopey posts. I sure got a real good Christmas present or at least a pleasant surprise. Have I been waiting for her to get back on while I’m awake and at my computer so we can chat again?

    Absolutly.

  • Hark! The Hearld Angles Sing!

    I started working on my book again today. Perhaps if I can stick with it and get the first chapter the way I want it, I’ll post it as a protected post. Thusly, if you want to read it in a couple of days, you’ll need to subscribe.

  • My Name is George Baily

    I have come to a conclusion: the two film characters I can identify with most is George Baily and the Titanic. Why the Titanic? Because I feel as though my only purpose in life is to serve as a warning to others. Why George Baily? Because it seems that no matter what I do, I’m trapped doing the same old thing that I was doing ten years ago. I’m still toying with computers, but I’m not a true hacker because I lack the appropriate amount of skilz to consider myself to be one. For example, I should be well-versed in *nixen but alas, I am not. I can code, but what worthwhile tool or program have I produced? I should know how to crack networks and be familiar enough with TCP/IP and related protocols that I should be able to write my own network exploitation suit. Or Hell’s bells, even be able to write a halfway decent GUI. But I have not.

    Film too is problematic. Spielberg directed his first movie when he was 13. By 15, he had a 30 minute feature in the can. By 18 he had a 140 minute feature in the can. Was it good? Can’t say, never seen it. Comment on difference between me and him in a moment. By 22 he’d directed a Movie for TV…Colombo no less. So by 22 he firmly had his career path established. When he was 26, the movie that would push him over the top, Jaws debuted. He started early early early and has been all the better for it. I mean, he didn’t waste all that time like I have. I’m 20.5 and what credits do I have to my name? Being AD on a shoot for a trailer that didn’t follow the story of the movie that it was supposed to be representing and a small commercial that probably no one has actually seen because it is all being run @ 0300. Ok, so I did edit something on the Cornerstone DVD, but because I lost the first half of it and because there are glitches in windows, the damned thing skips like it’s a Tony Scott film. Except it isn’t. And it doesn’t look good. And it sux!

    Now then, the difference between Steven Spielberg and me is that in his early years he wasn’t afraid to release something that had flaws in it. I on the other hand want everything done right and want it done right the first time. Perhaps this is a major (but certainly not the only) factor in why I don’t have more credits to my name.

    Please note that I’m note that the only reason I’m obsessed with credits isn’t to have the ability to wave it in somebody else’s face; rather, it’s having the ability to say, “I do have the credentials to work on this project. I want to work on it, I’ve been successful in the past, I have the money to pay for it my own self, so it’s mine to make.”

    The weekend
    This weekend was horrible. Don’t remember too much about Friday or Saturday, other than I took my mope and eat buddy out to eat for the umpteenth millionth time. Earlier that week, we’d dined at O’le Hidleburg. This weekend we went to Red Lobster. It had become apparent to a good friend of mine that mope and eat buddy has been just using me for quite some time. If not that, I was letting myself be used by indulging a champagne taste on a beer pocketbook. In fact, 75% of the balance on my credit cards is where I paid for both our meals. At first, I didn’t mind because it was under control and he was suffering from relationship problems. I at least thought that it was a good idea. But towards the end, it became apparent even to me that all we were doing was spending money that I didn’t have.

    Earlier on this blog, you were told that currently I am jobless. This remains the case. (more on that in a bit.) The point is the night I quit, my neighbor went to fill in for me at Godaweful establishment. When he tried to leave work that night, the battery had died. Spendmymoneybuddy and I had just returned from Red Lobster. When informed about the situation I called up Spendmymoneybuddy. He didn’t want to jump it off until in the morning, even though he’s an insomniac like the rest of us. The last time I saw him was when we jumped the car. I told him I’d take him out to our local haunt one more time for auld lang sine, but the schedule got a little weird. Days and nights started running together. Sleep patterns were non-existent other than I didn’t sleep.

    Stayed up all day Saturday and Sunday. Could feel that strep/mono shit coming back which I’m currently nursing. Had a job interview yesterday. The GM has the final say and wasn’t in yesterday, so…Woke up this morning ready to die. Nose all whacked and dry/sore throat. I could get Dad to call something in, but what would be the point? Got some stuff he gave me a while back. Gonna use it till it’s gone. Maybe by the time I wake up tomorrow this will be gone. But history says I’ll suffer for a week. I need to find a job. But I can’t go like this. Maybe tomorrow will be better.

    The Screening
    What made for an entire pissy day/weekend was the Screening. As I said, didn’t sleep Saturday night, so I went to the great town of Oneonta—eh. We arrived extremely late as Stephen had pushed things to the last minute. Upon arriving, we discover that there isn’t a handy DVD player. Upon reflection, I think that the church had one, but there wasn’t time to find out/piddle with trying to get into the storage closet.

    Headed for the house because I told them that I needed to pick some stuff up anyway and I figured I could nab the player from the house. When I got there, it was locked. Went by OCOG to nab a DVD player from there. Elisabeth handed me one. When I get back to Cornerstone

    Stephen

    Did you get the remote?

    me

    No. Why?

    Stephen

    Just follow me.

    On the way to Walmart, he explains that he needs the remote to peruse the menus and such. Otherwise, there would be no go on making a presentation. We run in, buy a DVD player which we intended to take back and batteries. Then to Radio Shack for needed cables/adapters. In all, I think I spent about $60.

    We get back to Cornerstone and service is just letting out. I frantically search for 2 1/4″ cables. Then power. Getting everything connected. Checking levels. Toney (the guy who taught me everything I know about sound) kept running after me telling me to calm down. It was just like old times.

    That wasn’t the only thing that was just like old times. What was also like old times was everyone wanting to placate. Me wanting to do my job and talk to no one. Me ignoring the placations making things happen.

    Ultimately, we snuck the DVD to the usher and his cat. No one stayed. Several families had recitals to attend, so that was understandable, but still. The only people who stayed the entire length was Jesse and his folks and missionary Mike Taylor. I had thought that the original Mrs. Right had left, but 75% of the way through she showed up and was highly interested. As soon as it was all over, I hastily tore everything down. She was asking Stephen where he’d had things printed, how much did it cost, etc. etc. She was the only one who showed real interest besides just wanting her something for nothing. Apparently, there’s a Russia reunion planned for the 28th that I have already decided that I will not be in attendance. This would be the official debut.

    Frankly, I think that besides my existence, this was the biggest waste of time I’ve ever been involved in. No one cared. And to top it off, I got some really bad news this weekend.

    Bad news goes here
    Bumped into Sunni. She said that the Pub Board won’t meet until after classes resume next semester. You could tell she was really disappointed with me. I am disappointed with me.

    I’m still jobless and sick.

    I did the whole alienation thing to my parents again. I told them that while I’d be in town I couldn’t attend their play that evening unless they were going to carry me back to Huntsvegas. Walked in the house after the flop was all over to return the DVD player that we never used and pick up the CDs that I had left from last visit. Walked out the door with them begging and pleading for me to stay, knowing full well they weren’t going to give me a lift back home. The whole thing was a mess. I should have never went Sunday.

    To top it off, I got word of how a certain person’s weeding went off. This is a son of a prominent Cornerstone Church member. His mother had commissioned Jesse to do either two or three different videography projects for the weeding. We kept trying to get the weeding, but to no avail. Jesse told me that there was someone there who taped the wedding from the balcony with no zoom lens and using only the shotgun on the camera to mic. Bastard! We’re betting he charges them a grand and that it will be just the footage: no post production work, no menus, no color adjustment, no nothing. Hell, we could have done that for a fourth of the cost, it still would have been better, and we’d be clicking our heels all the way to the bank. I hope they hate every frame of it and feel like the got ripped off.

    Then to piss me off even more, I find out that someone tapped the play at Mom and Dad’s church, put it on DVD and sold it. Fucking bastards! Oh yeah, a potential client in Cullman just made a DVD too. Remember the big bids that I kept talking about a couple of months back? That was with the Etowah Youth Symphony Orchestra (EYSO). We thought we were going to get two concerts. The idea was that we’d come in and do a professional job. I don’t mean just professional for us or the great State of Alabama. I mean professional even on Hollywood standards. We were going to have commentary tracks and professionally duplicate. My plan was to take the DVDs from there and go to Cullman to persuade this potential client to do the same, albeit on a smaller scale. But they (EYSO) turned us down so I never made it to Cullman.

    The thing that pisses me off about all of this is that people who don’t know what the fuck they’re doing are making shitloads of money doing what we can do professionally. So now, just because someone has a camera (and we’re talking one of those shitty $400 jobs, not the $4000 that we’re about to drop for the XL-2 notwithstanding being in possession of an XL-1) and a copy of Windows movie maker, they think that they’ve got a new cottage industry. Well fuck that! I haven’t wasted my life to be counted with the peasants who derogate what me and my colleagues strive so hard to perfect.

    This is exactly the reason that I hate Microsoft. They’ve helped raise a generation of people who think they know what they’re doing because they can point and click. It’s great for technology to be in the hands of the people. But assholes who don’t give a shit about the medium just give people like Stephen, Jesse, and myself a bad name. While we strive to make sure that things come out right and stay true to the artistic vision, many more are clogging the tubes. No wonder Episode III made so much Goddamned money! People don’t demand excellence anymore. They just want to be amused. Well, fuck them! Why don’t we all go back to fucking ENIAC? It worked.

    I had a conversation with someone a while back and the comment was made that they wouldn’t be surprised to see vinyl come back into style because it was “cool”. People, we keep going forward for a reason. I don’t get it. I just don’t. Sometimes I think it’d been better off if I were never born, thus completing my earlier remarks about knowing that my name is George Baily.

  • Info 411

    Carry Over and Balderdash

    That headline was one a headline in the infamous Info 411. Info 411 was the old newsletter that I published at Cornerstone (old church). Been thinking about re-releasing them as an anniversary edition set along with the Masterbuilders tapes from ’99…dunno though.

    When I first moved up to Huntsvegas, I wanted to maintain a newsletter…that’s why I did the church bulletins at Walls Chapel. But a bulletin isn’t the same as a newsletter. A bulletin is a nightmare of a layout project, rewording and fiddling to get everything to fit just right. A newsletter is much more flexible and since it is a periodical that one wants recognized, it doesn’t change that much visually (and typographically) and is therefore easier to manipulate and maintain unity across the issues.

    (Is it weird to subconsciously feel that it’s wrong to use “I” too many times even on your own blog? That you have to reword and get things out of first person?)

    One thing that discourages me from re-releasing is that I don’t have all of the issues electronically anymore…Info 411 was created and edited on the old Gateway… P2, 300 Mhz, 32 MB SDRAM, on board video and audio, no CD burner, no ZIP drive, no nothing to back up with. Just good ol’ floppies. In fact, that’s the reason why I don’t have one of the issues. Yannow…maybe I should just drag everything into InDesign, re-layout everything and then do a release… In all, there were 5 issues… issue dates are as follows:

    August 2000
    October 2000
    February 2001
    March 2001
    April 2001

    The idea was for the newsletter to be a monthly publication…the dreams of young, foolish kids, eh? Always trying to be like adults, never quit getting there. Length was variable issue to issue. Items that had continuity across the issues: logo (but even that changed from the August issue to October; from then on, it stayed put), the heading (with info such as the volume and issue), the first two pages had color on them, the font used to set all of the body copy (minus some submissions) was Century Gothic, two-columned, birthdays were listed on the left hand corner on the second page, the birthday images were edited in Photoshop Business Edition (which sux when you’re trying to do text)…the list goes on. I might even do a before and after and wrap the whole thing as an anniversary edition.

    Thought about even doing an electronic version of both the continuation and also the original issues. Don’t think I’ll try to get it up and running again…unless you, the faithful readers would like to be a part of this and help give material each month. We could even start a website and/or chatroom about this. Thoughts and comments appreciated. If there is enough support for this idea, I’ll collect submissions and layout, thus acting as Editor in Chief and Layout Editor.

    Questions you’re probably asking yourself right now:

    So what made me think of something that’s been dead for five years?
    Well, I was filling out the application for Office Max the other day and remembered that I did maintain a newsletter. (This was before I had gone to Desktop Publishing [DTP] at the Indianapolis Training Center [Indy, ITC, etc.]). Since I was applying for the Print and Document Services (PDS) division and wanted to list this on my application, I needed the dates, so I pulled ‘em outta storage.

    What made me do it?
    Honestly, I don’t remember other then I wanted to be a writer and a journalist. Actually, I called Mom to ask her, and she said she thought that it was because someone else was doing a newsletter but that it was atrocious. Sounds like me, but I’d remember that. I do know that there is a lost issues (January 2000). It was entirely black and white. I think I just did it to do it. One of the few times that I’ve actually heeded the Nike slogan. If there’s any active readership of my blog from the Cornerstone community of that time that might have a clue as to why I published Info 411, by all means leave me a comment or email me why you think I did.

    What kind of reactions were there to the newsletter?
    Mixed. There was great anticipation every moth as to whether or not a new issue would come out. Definitely, it gave us something to talk about. There was always some kind of reaction to the Bible Corners that I would write; mostly disagreement of course, but I think it stirred up a lot of healthy debate.

    Who cares?
    No one I bet.

    And the point of all of that was?
    Now that I’ve babbled on and on about something that is in the past and no one cares about, you’re probably wondering why I wasted the time writing this entry and plan to waste further time redoing the layout. As for this entry, Xanga is my journal, and this is my entry. In the attitude of Eric, this is my blog and I’ll write about what I want to write about, when I want to write it, how I want to write it, when I want to write. As for the layout job, it will keep me in practice, I can fix some blunders, and it will give me something to do that I’ve wanted to do for a long time.

    Back from La La Land a.k.a. News Goes Here
    Don’t know if I’ve mentioned this or not, but I quit working at the Godawful place I was working at. Have an interview on Monday (unless they’re gonna take me up on my proposal, it’ll probably only be part time), and a couple of leads to follow up on. Since I’m waiting on Sunni to give me the final pieces of information that I need for the Arête, I’ve not only wanted to write the past couple of days, but have really had the “inspiration” to. What I mean by that is thus: there’s a mood that I get into when I want to write…it’s hard to explain. It’s almost like a heightened sense thing. Every piece of music tells a story. I can hear conversations in my head as well as read descriptions of settings. I can even see the cameras and sets and lights. So I get “inspired” but the page is still blank before me. I swear, I just need to sit down and write, letting the chips fall where they may. Perhaps Stephen King and Timon Skees are correct after all. I mean, I do love to write. In fact, I think that’s why I blog: it’s easy writing.

    Point(s) to ponder:
    Why is it that scores/soundtracks are out of order, namely, Man on Fire, Hannibal, and Meet Joe Black?

  • Just want to say a big special thanks to everyone who reads my blog. As a reward, major kudos go out to those who can tell me where this text comes from. (NOTE: I’m not seeking information. Rather, I’m testing knowledge)

    E pensando di lei
    Mi sopragiunse uno soave sonno

    Ego dominus tuus
    Vide cor tuum
    E d’esto core ardendo
    Cor tuum
    (Lei paventosa)
    Umilmente pascea.
    Appreso gir lo ne vedea piangendo.

    La letizia si convertia
    In amarissimo pianto

    Io sono in pace
    Cor meum
    Io sono in pace
    Vide cor meum

  • Pulled an old game off the shelf…it’s much more enjoyable and stress relieving this time around.